Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution to these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the question of whether science and technology can handle environmental pollution or simple life is the way to conserve the environment remains a controversy. While some people believe ordinary life is better to protect the environment, I would agree that high-tech is an efficient way to tackle the problem.

On the one hand, the option to choose a traditional way of living is attractive for some reasons. Firstly, this lifestyle help to preserve the environment. Due to avoiding using fossil-fuel vehicles or machines that are operated by oil and gas, the carbon dioxide in the atmosphere which is released from those transports and machines will be decreased. From that, there will be more fresh air and some kinds of pollution such as water contamination or air pollution will decline. Secondly, the traditional lifestyle also ensures humans’ health. Because of the reduction of pollution, the atmosphere is cleaner, which insure people's health. The residents can use eco-friendly transport like bicycles or hiking. Regarding to those benefits, the resistance of citizens can be enhanced, which helps against heart diseases and respiratory problems.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believe a way of living full of science and technology is a better choice. The reason for that is that this lifestyle is convenient for both humans and the environment in some ways. Regarding the former, the development of technology helps them in communication, education, entertainment, and means of transportation. For example, a modern private car can do a variety of things such as watch films through a small TV, make a phone call by a virtual assistant, and can go thousand of miles at a high speed. As for the environment, science and technology discover renewable energies such as solar or wind which will replace fossil fuels in the future. Moreover, the development of science also helps in solving environmental problems. For instance, the disaster prediction system can find out and give solutions to reduce the risks of disasters.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to live in a high-tech environment than the traditional lifestyle.