Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad

In recent years, there has been a growing trend toward studying abroad among young people. When pursuing educational opportunities overseas is widely considered as a life-transforming opportunity, students should take on a number of challenges. Below are some specific advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad.

Studying abroad allows one to gain a real knowledge of a new culture and a new language. By interacting and communicating with native speakers daily, students can enhance their foreign language skills. They will simultaneously explore the values and ways of life of the host country. For example, Asian students might be surprised to find that communication in Western countries is starkly open and straightforward, in sharp contrast to the intense use of non-verbal messages in communication in their home countries. Not surprisingly, even simple everyday experiences, such as buying food and mailing letter, can help improve language proficiency and promote culture learning. It gives students new perspectives on how things are done.

During their overseas trip, many students will learn how to take care of themselves and live independently. The might have initial difficulties in fulfilling even the simplest tasks at the very beginning, such as grocery shopping, doing laundry, making living arrangements and setting accounts for electricity, but before long, they will adapt to the new environment and become self-sufficient. Moreover, by interacting with people from different backgrounds, overseas students can exercise and improve their social skills, an experience which is of great value to their careers later in life.

While studying abroad has its advantages, it might have its drawbacks. Most of the students are lack of life experience when they first travel overseas. Failure to cope with the problems that arise from their everyday lives might cause frustration. They feel helpless, suffer homesick and in worse cases, have a breakdown.

As suggested above, studying abroad poses both opportunities and challenges. While young people can become polyglots and independent individuals, gain opportunities for personal growth and develop an appreciation of cultural differences, they have to cope with the stress of living overseas.