Do you agree or disagree with the following statement High school students should wear uniforms to schools

While wearing a uniform is a mandatory requirement for students in some high schools, others allow their students to wear plain clothes at school. From my perspective, I partially agree with the idea of uniforms for the following reasons.

On the one hand, I believe that a uniform can benefit the highschool as well as their students. Firstly, a uniform can define the school’s identity. In Vietnam, for example, the majority of highschools have their own uniforms, which vary in colors, designs and unique logos. This may bring the students a sense of unity and be helpful in identifying them at events where many highschools gather. Secondly, wearing uniforms can alleviate possible class discrimination in high schools. As students come from different socio-economic backgrounds, fancy clothes are something to flaunt their wealth and privilege. Hence, wearing similar outfits seems to be a feasible solution for this distraction, establishing a fair and positive education environment.

On the other hand, I suggest that a highschool uniform might negatively impact some groups of people, and one of them could be the low-income family. To illustrate, the average cost of a standard uniform set for Vietnamese highschool students is 500 thousands Vietnamese dong, which constitutes a considerable budget for impoverished households. This might place a heavy financial burden on them when they have to pay this extra money almost every academic year. Moreover, wearing uniforms can bring highschool students an uncomfortable feeling. For example, skirts and dresses restrict a range of movement, so that wearers must seriously consider how they sit and run. This can lead to inconvenience, and further, insecurity in high school students.

In conclusion, it is my belief that compulsory uniforms are important for highschool students. Nonetheless, it should be profitable and comfortable for all students.