Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The government should spend more money on improving access to the Internet than on public transportation.

In such a civilized society, in spite of several disagreements people have in various areas so far as one’s view goes, one point that virtually everybody approves upon is the importance of government support in people’s lives. This is the mostly owing to the fact that people always have been expected some essential practical issues in order to have a comfortable life. With this in mind, a broad range of controversial attitudes might stimulate heated debates as to what kind of prominent support should be injected to the society from governments. Two sides often form in this regard. Those who trust that spending money to improve internet access is better, while others who think the improvement of public transportation is superior to the other choice. I personally consider myself among the latter group. Among the many reasons one can give for this opinion, two conspicuous reasons will be elaborated and investigated through ensuing lines.

One reason coming to mind at first is air pollution that has been a major crisis for every society in recent years. Needless to say that with population growth, the number of individual automobiles will increase dramatically and thus exhausted toxic gases such as carbon monoxide and sulfuric chemicals, which are so detrimental to humans and environment, will be released to the atmosphere. For instance, Air pollution problem in Tehran has been caused some bothersome illnesses and beginning of lung cancer in people. On the other hand, improvement accesses to public transportation such as subways, which are fastest and convenient, will encourage people to use them and thus will have a great influence in the reduction of dirty gases in the air.

Another equally important reason is that there will be an effective economic growth in society. Using public transportation allow people to save their time and money. Take an example of a person who wants to go his office in the early morning. Not only it is possible to reach the office late but will consume more time and money in a traffic and noisy condition as well which will make him so anxious due to not to emit some endorphin in the brain that is responsible for his cheerfulness. A recently conducted study at Sharif University of technology, it was found out that consumption of oil fuels will decrease exponentially if just 30 percent of people use public transportation that will result in a significant growth on economics.

In conclusion, there are many reasons which can be persuasive enough for governments in order to improve accesses on public transportation that will have some essential benefits for society. Based on the given reasons above such as air pollution and economic growth, I highly recommend that governments should put more emphasis on using public transportation by encouraging people. Otherwise, we will annihilate our planet gradually by our own hands.