The earth is being filled with waste material such as plastic bags and other rubbish. Is this really happening? What are some solutions to this problem?Gives reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.W

"We do not inherit the Earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children". This quote holds a very true sense in today's world. The earth is already suffering from numerous problems and one such relates to garbage disposal. Garbage and other waste materials has become a serious problem in the world today. In this essay, I am going to examine the possible reasons for this and suggest some of the proactive measures.

Demands of people are rising day by day. No sooner one need is satisfied, other rises. To cope up with multiplying demands, more and more industries are being established. These industries release a major proportion of chemicals into rivers. Moreover, these chemicals not only contaminate water bodies but also harm the aquatic life. According to a report published in Nature journal, industries in India produce about 62 million tonnes of solid-waste annually, which are left untreated and is not properly disposed. Its recycling is possible, but there is no proper system to deposit it. However, this problem can be puzzle out by installing waste management plants.

Another possible reason is changing trends of the society. Increase in income level of people makes them more materialistic. In this mass consumption society where people use more and throw away more than ever before. Moreover, countries are running out of space to store garbage and waste materials. The best epitome of this is India, where 70 percent of the population, annually, throw away the items which can still be put in use. To solve this intractable problem, every citizen needs to participate in producing less garbage. Moreover, the system named three R' s can also be proved beneficial. Here, three R' s means reduce, recycle, and reduce. If people will follow this, the problem will be definitely solved.

In conclusion, there is an increase in the number of garbage and waste materials as people are not aware of the consequences of this. Government should play a major role in educating people about how to reduce the problem. Moreover, companies should make products to be able to recycle.