Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are numerous languages which are spoken daily around the world. However, some of them disappear every year, which leads to an easier life since there are fewer languages exist. In my opinion, I strongly agree with that opinion.

There are two main reasons why the disappearance of some languages is not important; otherwise, it helps people to have an easier life. In terms of international communication, immigrants and people who study or work overseas will be more comfortable when communicating. They are not prone to the misunderstanding because of language barriers, especially in rural areas. Moreover, the fact the several languages die out annually also contributes to the formation of the main language used widely around the world, which is particularly useful for traveling and commercial purposes.

From a country’s perspective, the extinction of some languages helps the government to unite their people. For example, in Indonesia, there are nearly thousands of languages, which causes numerous difficulties for the authority to communicate and enact legislation as well. Additionally, children are not compelled to study both local and the country’s language. Therefore, they are not subject to being confused when using languages.

However, there is no denying that the disappearance of some ethical languages afflicts to the diversity of language usage and the culture of that language as well. Although the cultural values are influenced, there are other changes in the current languages spoken which also take part in the diversity of languages. In fact, there are a lot of differences in the way people from different areas use languages like their pronunciation, “slang”, idiom or also grammar structure. Therefore, to study and preserve the above changes also contributes greatly in forming a new culture and tradition of languages.

In conclusion, the disappearance of some languages which are not used widely helps people have better and simpler lives. Governments and organizations should protect the number of ones which are generally spoken in order to preserve the diverse languages currently exist.