The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages

Every human being needs a considerable amount of multifarious types of nutrients in their meals, so folks these days expect a variety of food or ingredients to attain an ideal diet. Each of the variety in groceries expected by the public require unique conditions to be produced not common to any land, therefor the journey of the food from the farm to our folks becomes relatively long. Some believe that it would be better if the citizenry is dependent on the local goods. Here I would like to list out the advantages and disadvantages of global circulation of edible goods.

To begin with, there are myriad advantages of importing and exporting soft commodities few of them are, firstly technology is flourishing by leaps and bounds so this effects ones diet directly as anything from around the globe can reach you irrespective of your location by the internet. secondly, the masses get to choose from a variety of ingredients in order to widen their cuisine, For example, if a person is settled abroad for a certain purpose and desires to have a supper which belongs to immigrant's native, the foreigner can simply order the ingredients online to initiate the preparation of the meal. furthermore, In few parts of the world there are countries with extreme weather conditions and infertile lands incapable of producing most of the essential ingredients required for an ideal meal, for such countries it becomes mandatory for them to constantly import the integrals of food in order to maintain plum health of their citizens.

on the other hand, considering the advantages of self dependence of country for its own food, Firstly, it is very good for the government if the public depends on the local goods as it consistently hikes the countries economy and the country wont be dependent on its allies or neighbors during war or a natural calamity. Secondly, Masses consume healthy and fresh food when its locally produced as the distance from the source to table is less time consuming. moreover few ingredients like meat and dairy products should be frozen in order to transport it to places, hence it losses most of its nutrients when froze, reheated and cooked.

to conclude, there are certain advantages of depending upon local goods where the public gets reasonable, fresh food ingredients but they do not outweigh the advantages of international circulation of food as hunger cannot be considered as a national problem and instead it should be accounted as a global problem because there are many people across the globe living on a sterile land and totally depending on international goods for food.