Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society Give reasons for your answer

Freedom of speech is the power to seek and impart ideas of all kinds, regardless of frontiers, either orally, in writing, through any media of his choice. While I believe that the authorisation to hold opinions without interferences remains virtually indispensable for the functioning of a free society, there should be some restrictions on it. This essay will discuss two significances of the free speech and put forward a reason why legal limitations ought to be established.

To begin, freedom of speech becomes absolutely essential to end discriminations in a work place where females and minority groups fall victims. This can be exemplified by the fact that the managers often exclude those groups from meaningful participations, neglect their views and lay priorities over males to females. Nevertheless, speech, as long as protected by the law, enables workers to exhibit the wrongdoings of the authorities. So, this opens up opportunities for careful enquiries to ensure the transparency of the organisations. Hence, the rights prove how the sexist and racial prejudices may be broken down substantially.

Secondly, civil rights can foster an economic growth of the democratic nations. To demonstrate, the rate of economic expansion would become stronger for longer periods if the government consisted of wholesome and trustworthy leaders. This becomes possible when public has been awarded freedom of expression so that people can select truthful candidates by casting votes and voting down the corrupted aspirants. At the same time, such fundamental rights can allure domestic and foreign investors. So, the importance of free rights explains that it is a powerful predictor of the wealth of a country.

However, having the first amendment in place can bring out voices of hate, untruthful rumours and lead to a severe unrest. For an example, recently in Nepal, the leaders of CPN-UML had negative verbal speech, which was directed against the president of Madeshi Morcha. As a consequence, the hatred speech triggered violent clashes between the supporters of two parties dooming to deaths of three proponents of the Morcha cadres.

To conclude, freedom of speech is imperative for a healthy society and productive government as it protects people from injustice. And constitutional laws ought to be enacted to prevent folks from abusing their rights to express themselves.