In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement?

With the fast pace of technological development, it is not uncommon that eBooks and online newspapers are more dominant because they are free of charge. In my opinion, I firmly agree with this statement that these online media would replace the regular ones not only because of their convenience but also their environmental benefits.

To begin with, it is an undeniable fact that people nowadays have smartphones that can access the Internet from everywhere. It also means that information can be available at any time in a day with just a few clicks on the screens. Moreover, printed newspapers and books usually present the information through words and illustrations that seem to be less realistic as compared to their online counterparts, which have the help of technology to unfold the possibility of uploading videos and voice records. Hence, this is where the proliferation of online news sources would arrive.

Furthermore, fewer printed newspapers and books mean less deforestation. In order to produce a ton of paper, seventeen full-grown trees are needed to fill in the process, but a tree requires at least thirty years to reach its full growth. To bring it further, this case would only happen if the trees are planted at an appropriate tropical climate with plenty of water supply because it would be hundred of years in cooler regions. Therefore, if we kept producing printed magazines and books along with many potential environmental threats that deforestation would bring, the world would run out of trees before humans could even realize it.

Admittedly, people would argue that the credibility of printed media is much higher because they are usually thoroughly checked, edited, and censored prior to their publication. However, many governments have also established regulations about protecting the Internet environment from unreliable sources.

To sum up, I believe that the constant advancement in technology would make online newspapers and eBooks take over the position of their printed fellows due to the convenience and environmental impacts that they would bring to humans.