“Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

In recent few years, genetic engineering has been becoming a subject of increasing concern in today society. Many people suppose that this advanced technology might be harmful to human life and all creatures in the world. However, others think that it plays a vital role in the development of society, and I agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, genetic mutations can cause a number of serious consequences in various aspects. Firstly, humans can become victims of genetic tinker and suffer strange diseases when they eat GM products. For example, if customers eat genetically modified foods not tested on the safety for human beings, they could be exposed to weird illness even cancer. Secondly, the development of genetic engineering could threat the ecological environment. It is obvious that food chains could be broken if crops are resistant to predators. Consequently, GM crops might change whole ecosystems.

On the other hand, I argue that recombinant DNA technology can make a significant contribution to the prospect of human life. In terms of food security, crop modification can address the increased food demands of people around the globe. Because genetically modified crops are a great way to produce a huge amount of food in a short time period and with less money. In addition, human’s life expectancy would be longer thanks to genetic engineering. For instance, scientists can use genetic engineering to change gene structure before a baby is born, which allows doctors to terminate inherited illnesses running in their family. As a result, innate morality would decrease considerably.

In conclusion, although some individuals think that genetic engineering can cause a wide variety of damages to modern society, I argue that this advanced technology has positive effects on the development of human beings.