Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that whether demerits or merits genetic engineering would bring about our lives in the future is a subject of debate. From my perspective, while there are some reasons given to justify the latter, the former is more preferable.

On the one hand, some people suppose that genetic engineering would enhance our living standards in the future. The first prominent justification is that this kind of technology could help people cure some diseases, including replacing body parts. In some cases, for those who suffer serious damages from accidents or cancer, this would be an incredible way to help them live longer. Furthermore, genetic engineering could improve the productivity of breeds for farmers. In other words, this technology might stimulate the development of agricultural sectors, resulting in an increase in foods for people.

On the other hand, some people advocate that manipulating the genes of an organism can cause risks for our lives in the long run. First, in the era of this technology, parents could desire to choose their children’s characteristics. This would be regarded as an unfair approach for the underprivileged due to its expensive price. Second, the ability to change the genome of humans could lead to cloning. If cloning is permitted, the genes of the strongest people will be weaponized for wars by creating soldiers for some countries, which might result in a further increase in human suffering. Also, as clones are not prohibited, it could be used for criminal purposes by disguising any people. Moreover, genetic intervention is prone to be one of the key factors influencing the whole ecosystem by changing the genes of food. For instance, if crops are resistant to predators, food chains could be broken.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, although genetic engineering could have positive effects on our lives, it seems to me that it would bring risks to our society in the long term.