Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Some people are of a view that music, arts and theatre are wasting money if the government invests in them. However, the government should invest that money in public services whilst others oppose this view.

Those who believe that the government should not invest in art, music and theatre activities points out that these are just leisure activities which does not contribute to enriching the country. They believe the money could be used in financing business programmes as they contribute vastly to enriching the country. Programmes such as providing loans and short term courses encourages people to set up their own businesses therefore they would upgrade the country`s economy.

One other major reason is that the money could be used in providing free education for all for unlike music, art, and theatre which are not for all. This would lead to an educated nation thus reducing poverty. When people are educated they will be able to get better jobs which are paying well hence reducing poverty rate.

On the other hand, some believe music art, and theatre help in displaying different cultures of a country. For instance Botswana through art, music and theatre promotes and displays way of life of the san people a minority group in such country. Owing to these displays the whole country recognizes that culture hence it is bound not to extinct.

In addition, art, music and theatre are a source of employment to some. We have musicians, artists and play writers as examples. They earn a living from these activities. Therefore if the government does not support them they are prone to poverty.

In conclusion, whether the government should invest in activities like art music, and theatre or public services instead has triggered a spirited debate .However, I assert that the government should invest equally in both.