A government's role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure, such as roads, water and power. All other services, such as education, health and social security, should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that government exist only to create defence capability and urban infrastructure such as roads, water and power. Meanwhile, the other services for instance education, health and social security should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community. In my opinion,i do not fully agree as it is important that both sides must help each other to complement the missing aspects in each sectors.

Firstly, government is the one that run and define a country. They are responsible for every problems that happened in the country. However, their responsibility could be splitted between society and government alike. For instance, when a disaster strike the country, the government and society help each other to recover from the damage. Society might provide the supplies to area that is affected with the disaster. The supplies itself can only reach to the disaster victims by establish strong logistics route. Although the contribution from the society might be less than the government, it already show that the society also willing to do the same actions as the government.

Secondly, government should not only limited to build infrastructure but also helpful with clear efforts and supports in social aspects. Government play vital role as the one that establish strong relationship and trust with their people. By providing them with good infrastructure and lawsuit, people might not lose their trust on government easily. A strong evidence could be found in Indonesia where the people currently obtained a lot of benefits from government programs mainly in health and education. The government create cards for the poor which cannot afford to pay health bills and education bills. The cards are possessed by a lot of families from poor background and the system are running without any difficulties. This evidence lead to people trust for the current government to run for another period.

To conclude, it is matter that government and society alike must provide help and complement each other in every aspects. Government should also build a strong trust between them and citizens as the citizens reflect the situation of the country itself.