An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The education system is evolving from the beginning and now it reached a stage where schools are providing tablets and laptop computers for students and it will create a positive impact on the education of students.

The learning process of using modern technology is welcoming and beneficial to students in multiple ways.

Firstly, In laptop computers and tablets, it is easy for students to take notes and modify them is simpler than taking notes in books and modifying them. To manufacture books and printed materials it requires an immense amount of trees and which is responsible for deforestation and it creates an imbalance in the environment.

If a student has an extensive amount of study materials in physical forms such as books and printed materials, It will be a tedious task to find specific information in those materials whereas this situation is unlikely in case of electronic gadgets. It is easy to maintain the entire curriculum study materials on the computer or tablet than on books and it is also possible to store one's entire educational materials starting from level one to their highest educational qualification. But it is impossible in case of a single book or single study material. Dynamic information can be retrieved from the computer whereas books are specific to the contents given in them, which means, it is possible to get updated or additional information in the computer through internet communication and books are specific to existing content in them.

Extensive use of electronic gadgets may result in interim or lasting of one's eye-sight damage and it does not apply to books. books are way cheaper than computes or tablets. Since computers can connect to the internet and it is a place where the amount of distraction is very high and the student may use them for non-educational and illegal purposes. Therefore computers are also considered to be a bad influence. Unless it is used strictly for educational purposes. If students are not exposed to handwriting for the assignment or exam, then, there is a possibility that a student may face difficulties while filling some applications offline.

It is important to have knowledge of both computers and books and a balance between them is necessary but using laptop computers and tablets has more advantages than books and printed materials combined together.