Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerning the nerve-wracking issue related to the environment, several people these days hold the belief that authorities and large enterprises are the exclusive factors that can make a contribution to preserving and recovering our environment since scarcely anything a singular person can do. From my perspective, while the merits of governments and colossal organizations are undeniable, effective environment conservation requires concerted efforts of people from every segment of the society

To initiate, there is a variety of explanation to support that only government and large companies can make a difference in improving the environment. One fundamental justification is that they are the only subjects that have sufficient financial resource as well as human power to implement projects on the national or international scale. By the way of exemplifying, afforestation campaigns, which cost up to an enormous amount of money that no single individual can afford, are being conducted by several ministries with the aim of combating deforestation. Another justification is that the government can use the legislation system to enforce punishment against the act of damaging the environment, thereby decreasing the potential damages of human activities

Nevertheless, the contribution of each individual on the process of improving the environment should not be underestimated. First and foremost, all aforementioned projects will be considered as meaningless if the majority of citizens are not fully aware of the importance of the environment and the deteriorative activities such as the discharging of wastewater and emissions from households continue. On the second place, humble activities may result in tremendous impacts if they were done coordinatedly. Ocean cleanup can be a suitable case in point. Ocean cleanup campaigns can be a suitable case in point. Plenty of seashores has returned to the original cleanliness thanks to the outstanding endeavour of volunteers and non-government organization

In conclusion, whilst governments and large companies can make a great contribution to protecting the environment at a macro level through colossal projects and legislation system, the concerted effort of each individual is necessary in order to make a difference