It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

According to a recent survey, the majority of graduates have a gap year after finishing high school. I am convinced that, having a year off between school and university has its merits like an opportunity to have work experience, but it also has drawbacks like the risk of loss of students' concentration on studies.

On the one hand, I understand that working during the ga year is very advantageous for high school graduates. In other words, they can not only improve the skills in their field of interest but also earn some extra money to pay for the tuition fees. For example, in the United Kingdom, every third prospective student interest in computer science has a year off to work as a volunteer in major companies like Google and Facebook. Obviously, such experiences can definitely help freshmen to learn more about a particular job and to have the upper hand in the university applications. All things considered, it seems to me that, to have a year off could be immensely valuable for students, especially if they are determined to work tirelessly and enhance their professional knowledge.

On the other hand, it is obvious that the extended period of time out of studies has its drawbacks because students may have difficulties at the university. To put it another way, generally, it may be more complicated for students to follow academic timetables and meet new challenges. For instance, in 2017, 37 undergraduates who had a year out were expelled from Oxford University as they struggled with high school program and could not adjust to university schedule. Therefore, I am certain that, taking a year out has serious disadvantages that can lead even to the expulsion of students from the institute.

All in all, there are both advantages and disadvantages to taking a gap year. In my opinion, if students truly want to ensure the successful career in the future, they should probably benefit from the gap year between high school and university studies.