It is believed that young people are more interested in international pop singers and movie stars then in history and historical people.why is this?

In recent years, celebrities from the music industry and film industry have been gaining a great deal of popularity throughout the world compared to the famous people from old-age history. Most importantly, it has been a bone of contention among the critics regarding the underlying reasons pertaining to the biasness of people on celebrities.

The most prominent reason in the background is the tendency of the mass people to follow the lifestyle of the stars. For this reason, the die-hard fans always try to mimic what their heartthrob singer or actor is doing throughout the day. To exemplify this we can consider the crazy people regarding Shah Rukh Khan. Millions of fans are always trying to imitate what this film star is doing, wearing, saying or even eating. Moreover, it is common human psychology that everybody wants to be famous. In this rat race, the fame of any well-recognized face serves the purpose of inspiration. That is why, the street hawker, for example, who sells film magazines of on the street, dream to be a movie star inspired by Amitabh Bachchan, the heroic film star of all age in India.

Another reason for this craziness can be explained by the promotional campaign run by the media to promote few upcoming celebs of different genre. In most cases, it is seen that the media is taking an important role in advertising them during an event or competition. Therefore, the targeted audiences become influenced greatly and start following them closely. For example, I see the competitor singers of Indian Idol are being advertised for getting their public vote smoothly. However, this not done in case of historical people like the King Tipu Sultan. The reason behind this is the less focus of the media on those chapters that contribute to the disinterest of the general people on them.

To conclude, the popularity of the media people including music rock stars and giant of the television screens will be more in the coming days, albeit it is sometimes biased and blind. There no strong reason that people will start following the historical people drastically unless any move has been taken by the media.