It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A belief that making one talented in any particular field is possible despite the lack of inborn skills challenges the other view of people who believe people born with natural talents. This essay will discuss why learned talent is helpful but why an inborn talent is ultimately superior.

One can become good at sports or music by learning related skills but many think that it is arduous. Even though some people do not have innate skills, continuous practice, and development of interests to learn something new that triggers hard work will eventually pay off. For example, when I wanted to learn karate, I worked really hard to train myself. Rigorous training made me win most of the competitions I attended in spite of my inability at the beginning compared to other fellow participants who had it in their blood.

But not everyone will have the required capacity. Having the skills before birth itself will make one excel in the field one wants without much effort. While others spend time on initial practice, those naturally talented can use that time for developing extreme skills. For instance, I did no regular practice like my brother in school. When we playfully decided and raced as we both were the best athletes in our schools, I beat him because of my natural running skills.

With advancements in technology and sincere aspirants, inborn talents are being challenged somewhat equally today. This essay discussed why natural talents are more helpful than the latter view's advantages. In my opinion, innate talents offer people more chance to achieve greater levels of success.