It is important for people to take risks both in their professional lives and their personal lives Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages

Taking risks is the quality that makes people courageous and ready to face any challenge and many people believe that people should take risks in the daily and work life. This essay will discuss the benefits and demerits this ideology before making any conclusion.

To initiate with the positive side of taking risks, although there are myriad of benefits, yet the predominant one is the ability to face any obstacle in life. A person gains self-confidence and becomes resilient once he starts taking frequent risks. For such people, unforeseen opportunities rise that makes their life meaningful. For example, if a person with uplifting thoughts wants to change others self-destructive views, he has to take the risk of speaking up, even if it means going against someones's religion.

History is full of evidences that all the reforms that had taken place in the world, are because the prominent leader were courageous enough to take the risk of raising their voice against injustice, even if it meant to spend whole life in prison. Even in professional field, taking new chances develops a sense of pride and accomplishment and enhances creativity in an individual.

There might few disadvantages of taking risks as well. A person is never certain whether the end result of taking a risk will be in his favour or not. There might be loss of wealth in business or the case of embarrassment if the outcome is not as desired. Also, sometimes a person might not like taking the risk at all if it accompanied any kind of loss or insecurity.

To conclude, although taking risks has few demerits but the advantages are much higher in number. The disadvantages can further reduce if a person take every precaution and be a little careful before taking any kind of risk.