It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A number of people have the opinion that learning about their own countries' history is more vital than learning about world history for children. While I agree that local history is necessary for pupils, I believe that world history should be equally important.

There are some reasons why learning local history is of importance for schoolchildren. first, it is an important means of educating children about their own countries' culture, which may instil in them a sense of patriotism. pupils in Vietnam, for example, often feel a sense of pride when learning about several victories of Vietnamese ancients against outside intruders in a number of long-lasting wars. Second, learning about local legends in history helps children be more motivated to study hard and pursue their dream. Indeed, when learning about legendary writers in a local region and reading and reading their works of literature, children will be inspired by them and have more motivations to study writing in their mother language.

However, there also good reasons why learning world history is beneficial for children. The first reason is that this is a way to broaden children's knowledge of other cultures, which is essential in today's context of globalisation. If children enjoy learning about english history, they will have a good chance to improve their english reading skill, which certainly has positive impacts when they work for a foreign company in the future. Furthermore, learning about other countries' history also stimulate children's curiosity about other countries. As a result, they know more about foreigners and easily make friends worldwide.

In conclusion, I believe that learning world history is as important as learning local history for children because both two branches of history have their own unique benefits.