It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet . Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that we no longer need to come to different places to learn the way of life of others because we can learn the same things from books, films, and the internet. Personally, I am more inclined towards the former.

There are two main reasons why many individuals prefer to stay home and browsing the internet for information about the globe. One reason is that it is the easiest and cheapest way to gain more knowledge about what other people are doing in their own country. Take bloggers, for example, travellers went to various sites of the world and then when they came back home, they wrote a blog their observation, the norm, lifestyles and especially the cautions when coming to a country. Furthermore, books can give details with lots of data, pictures and descriptions about that region’s traditions, customs, civilization. Documentary movies are also of great help as most of them provide the audience with sound effects, allowing learners to hear the locals’ voices and languages.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believed that it is better for learners to pay a visit to the country whose culture they want to know more about. People cannot have realistic experiences if only staying home and reading reviews posted online. Instead, they should get directly exposed to the culture they are curious about so that they can have their own experiences and opinions without relying on others’ subjective judgements. Since the world is always changing the facts provided by books and movies might soon be out-of-date. Therefore, what was written or recorded a long time ago can hardly ensure its accuracy.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that people need to travel around to learn better about the culture of somewhere rather than depending on the ample source of information from books, films and the internet.