It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

It is widely perceived that pupils have a tendency neglect science major when choosing courses to study at school. There are some underlying reasons for this phenomenon which leads to detrimental effects on society.

Science major is not chosen as student’s field for two main reasons below. First and foremost, science area was believed that requiring a lot of diligence as well as a great deal of patience and intelligence. Chemistry, for example, request researchers both industriousness and careful which not all people possess. Therefore, there was a number of students reluctant chose science area following parent’s orientation without any interest. Another reason is that people who chase science subject also have to devote more time than humanities or business students. This is because these major require time not only in learning theoretical lessons but also in doing researches.

This practice results in some deleterious influences on the public. One of the most significant impacts is that the imbalance in the future workforce. This is due to the fact that a vast majority of employees work in other fields such as humanities, business or economics. Furthermore, when the number of science researchers decreases that means human will face up to unwanted challenges in science fields. Take health to exemplify this obstacle, people will lack human resources in finding a cure for some deadly diseases like cancer.

To conclude, a large number of students choose other fields to pursue instead of science because of mental and time demand which they need to devote. This phenomenon brings about adverse impacts on future workforce and exert obstacles for human in science fields.