It is seen that older adults are not given enough respect and facilities in many countries. What could be the reason for this? What are effects of this?

It is irrefutable that senior citizens are the backbone of every society. Therefore, there is no doubt the graying society should get respect, but in present scenario older people are treated very rudely, even by their own children. However, it is stigma on present generation and has very bad effect on society. This essay discus several reasons behind inadequate respect and attention received by senior people and highlight its effects on society.

To begin with, there are several reasons in regard to the declining respects for elderly people. The prime factor, the family bonding and parents teaching methods at home are to be blamed. The family value and bond are no longer important to the young generation these days. Although youngsters not entirely responsible for this social debasement as parents nowadays are too busy to teach their children morality. Secondly, graying society being physically weaker fail to do full time jobs and hence contribute negligible to country’s economy. Furthermore, with reduced income they expect tax rebate, pension, discounts and so forth. Moreover, increase in age leads to higher intensive health care facilities. All these issues contribute negatively to the country’s economy. Therefore, some countries show reluctance in offering support and respect to old people.

On the paradoxical side, there are egregious consequences of lack of support from government to the older population. Firstly, it results to dissatisfaction against system and country. Also, elderly people become pessimistic and frustrated about life. What’s more, lack of support from government creates financial burden on their family members, which creates problem among the members. Consequently, such development leads to imbalance in the society and people perceive old age as curse.

To conclude, the lack of respect towards the elderly is a great concern and to mitigate this problem, countries must change their approach towards older people and utilize their skills in proper way to maintain positive growth in all age groups.