Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is suggested by many that traditional businesses should be replaced by mega shopping centres. In my opinion, the benefits of large shopping malls outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, the existence of big shopping malls has some negative effects on small shops. As more people opt to shop at supermarkets, local businesses suffer loss and eventually shut down. Moreover, parking problems could be a substantial reason behind the opponent’s viewpoint. There including excursive crowding in the shopping complex, especially one weekend and holidays. As a result, shoppers have to spend a long time in the parking bays rather than shopping in small shops. The prices in large shopping malls are also unreasonable and people always end up purchasing more than they actually need. Therefore, shopping at large centres might not be convenient for the lower and middle-class population.

On the other hand, the reasons for supermarkets becoming popular are manifold. Firstly, mega shopping complexes bring difficult vendors under a single roof and offer a spectrum of products. As people in cities have less time to spend on shopping, these malls save their valuable time. Consequently, they do not have to make multiple stops at different stores to get take shopping for a more comfortable and exciting experience. Thus, peeling more and more customers and multiplying the business.

In conclusion, the number of mega malls is increasing these days, and some people believe that they will replace traditional markets. I personally believe that supermarkets have immense benefits to the modern society that outweigh the options and conveniences offered by the small shops.