The leaders or directors of organizations are often older people. But some people say that young people can also be a leader. What extent do you think?

It is true that many leaders and senior executives in global companies are elderly people. However, I would argue that those superb young people are also eligible to take important positions in today's world.

On the one hand, compared to the young generation, elderly people possess more edges. First and foremost, they have better cognitive skills, such as big-picture thinking and long-term vision. This is because years of work experience and failures teach them to take every aspect into consideration before making important decisions.

By contrast, due to a lack of social experience, young leaders seem to make shortsighted decisions sometimes. Moreover, since the old have already overcome countless difficulties and challenges prior, they can quickly adjust their mood in turmoil and lift the morale of the whole organization.

On the other hand, there are two reasons why younger directors are also competent to be leaders in important positions. In the first place, with well-educated backgrounds, young leaders are more likely to have a deep understanding of cultural difference, and they can empathize with other employees and clients much better. Today, empathy plays a key role in retention of talents. For example, it is easy to misunderstand others in a cross-cultural dialogue. When good employees resign, they -might take the company's knowledge with them, which is a brain drain for the company. Secondly, compared with the senior leaders, young directors can apply the latest technology and theory into practice, and this can counteract negative stereotype of management and greatly improve the productivity.

In conclusion, in my opinion, age should not be the criterion when selecting the leader of leadership can play his or her role in the organization.