Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People differ in their opinion if we need to study past events to understand our present. Many people think that it is an unnecessary burden on as history has nothing to offer to the current generations. However, I stand on the other side of the argument as I am convinced that we are likely to live in a better world if we meticulously study historical events from the past.

First of all, subjects such as history and political science provide great examples from the bygone era. It throws the light on the success and failure of our ancestors, and assists us to make devise our future course of actions. Moreover, every historical event, if analysed carefully, is likely to act as an eye opener for us, providing valuable information from our existence to present situation. In fact, we can learn a lesson from our pasts and can turn our future to our advantage. For instance, if we read about the victorious armies of some great wars, the textbooks will probably tell us the strategies employed by them, helping us in future engagement with our enemies.

Secondly, history connects us with our roots and ancestors. What I mean by this is people will be able to understand their cultures, traditions, customs etc. by evaluating the practices adopted by members of their tribes and clans in the past. If young students are not taught such important subject, they may probably never be able to connect the link between the past and the present.

To sum up, the teaching and learning of past incidents are very useful to draw a picture of our future. History contains a lot of useful information for present generation, and also helps humans to appreciate their culture and traditions.