Living in a foreign country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

Every country in the world has it’s own language base. When people move from one country to other, at first glance, it appears to be quite challenging especially when there is a language barrier. However, there are ways to solve this and in my opinion this is not a major setback be it in terms of social or practical purposes. This essay will discuss about the same.

Nowadays, any person wanting to move from one country to another goes through a series of language tests which validates their ability to understand and pursue the foreign language. As a result of which, even before entering any new country most of the migrants are quite proficient. This solves a lot of potential problems because people would be able to deliver their thoughts and tackle social situations. For instance, IELTS is one such exam that is conducted by the British council to evaluate the english speaking abilities of non-native speakers who wish to move to countries like Canada, Australia and USA.

Moreover, it is important for individuals to respect the foreign culture and ethnicity. Imbibing this will reduce the probability of hitting into any kind of serious issues in foreign land. For example, in India it is compulsory for anyone entering a Gurdwara, a temple for Sikhs to cover their heads. Refusing to follow this can radiate disrespect and is frowned upon. There are number of such practises in different parts of the world that are quite harmless, yet can be a deal breaker.

Lastly, a deeper look reveals that it is not necessary that residing in a foreign country and having to speak a different language can cause any serious threats, as long as one is respectful and open to change.