A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

The problem related to people`s desire to travel all over the world has always been relevant. Some representatives of society opine that tourism is beneficial for economic prosperity of the country, while others state that this industry brings harmful effects. This essay will examine the main benefits and drawbacks of travelling and provide logical argumentation of the merits` prevalence.

On the one hand, the probable advantages of this trend are considered to be the financial profit for the country as well as the increase of the workplaces for the local people. Admittedly, the significant rate of the money, tourists spend on rent, tickets and souvenirs, pass to the government. Therefore, tourism helps to improve the financial stability of the nation. Furthermore, the increasing popularity of travelling contributes to the rise of the workplaces` number due to the necessity to provide comfortable service for foreigners. For example, overwhelming majority of Sochi citizens own private businesses, such as restaurants or hotels, which are successful due to the FLOW of tourists in this area. Thus, the main benefits of this tendency are ecomonical improvement of the area and availability of job vacancies.

On the other hand, the principal disadvantages of travelling are environmental problems and high rate of fraud. As a result of trips by vehicles, produced carbon dioxide and exhaust fumes, the concentration of these gases in the air grows. For instance, according to the survey conducted by the Saint-Petersburg Ecological University, the quality of the air improved significantly over the Covid-19 pandemic due to the prohibition of travelling. Moreover, places with a lot of travellers are often considered to be attractive for thieves. To put it differently, the quantity of stealings is high in crowded tourist spots due to people`s preferences to carry with them all the documents and credit cards. Hence, the drawbacks of trips are believed to be ecological issues and significant level of thefts.

I am convinced that advantages of travelling dominate over disadvantages due to the great importance of national financial benefits in comparison with the environmental problems. Basically, if the country is economically thriving, enough money will be invested in the improvement of the atmosphere quality.

To conclude, the main merits of tourism are economical profit and available vacancies, while the demerits are ecological deterioration and increased incidence of fraud. I strongly believe that the pros marked above outweigh the cons of trips.