In many countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more available. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the world is observing the expansion of fast-food chains with its increasing affordability and availability. From my point of view, this trend creates more drawbacks than benefits.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that this development can have some possible advantages. Fast food is becoming cheaper, leading to the rise in the consumption of customers, thus can not only help fast-food businesses make a great profit but also enhance national budgets. In addition, the growing availability and affordability of junk food allow people with hectic schedules to have a complete meal at a reasonable price at any time they want. Therefore, these individuals can save time and effort to enjoy themselves and work more productively.

Despite these above arguments, I believe that the demerits of this development can eclipse its aforementioned merits. The cheaper and more popular fast food gets, the more often people may buy this dish. As these customers consume junk food on a regular basis, they would be more prone to obesity, cancer and heart diseases, which are serious health problems. Moreover, as fast food cost less to purchase, the sales of this would increase. As a result, junk food becomes profit-driven, making its producers overlook the food safety standards, which means ingredients used to make fast food can be reused several times. Consequently, this food becomes unwholesome and is associated with diseases such as food poisoning, diarrhea, and digestive disorder.

In conclusion, although fast food becoming cheaper and more available may yield some benefits, I would contend that the disadvantages of this trend would be more serious.