In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as the food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that plastic containers have grown more common than ever in several nations. They're utilized in a variety of industries, including the food and beverage sector. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the downsides.

On one hand, there are two major benefits when using plastic bags for foodstuffs. Firstly, it is more convenient, lighter and easier for people who are living at the fast pace of modern life. Since employees have to work in the early morning and have few breaks so they have less time to eat, fast-food chains are increasingly popular worldwide and most of them tend to keep their food and drinks in plastic containers. Take Starbucks, for example, it is a well-known brand for drinks, especially coffee, therefore, many workers love to have a cup of coffee for more energy and improve concentration during work. Moreover, it is not breakable and consumers just need to put the plastics in a dustbin when they are done. Throwaway knives, forks and plates are ubiquitous in picnics and outdoor eating.

On the other hand, I believe that the drawbacks are more significant than such advantages. One reason is that the decomposition of waste plastic will encounter more difficulties due to the fact that millions of different plastics are still thrown away every year. As a result, the amount of carbon dioxide from the burning process will be emitted more than ever, along with the emissions from various means of transportation each day will make the earth hotter which causes floods, drought, earthquakes to happen more often. Furthermore, many individuals who are in a hurry or do not have the habit of putting garbage in the right place will likely throw all the used plastic containers on the streets, hence, when it rains, it will get stuck in the sewers, blocking the circulation of rainwater and causing floods inside the city. Besides, travellers will not be attracted to places that are filled with plastic waste on every street corner and even famous tourist destinations.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of introducing plastic packaging for the food and drink industry in various enterprises nowadays are more significant than the positive ones.