In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

The increasing of older people in many countries continues to be a controversial topic, just as its proportion has increased until now. There are arguments on both sides of this very topical debate, and I will discuss them now.

On the one hand, the growth of senior population has caused many negative effects on economy and society. The Government would provide money in term of pension to assist elderly life quality. This assistant comes in the form of welfare payments, which are collected from tax payers. An increasing number of older people will mean more tax must be collected in order to support. For example, if the number of elderly people doubles in a year, a tax payer who currently pays $10,000 per year might have to pay $20,000 in the following year to support the welfare of this older population. This is a negative trend as more young people will thus become liable for the living expenses of an increasingly aging population. Moreover, the increasing number of older citizens will exacerbate overpopulation all over the world, which means there will not be enough land and resources for humanity’s existence.

On the other hand, the elderly are obviously more experienced and knowledgeable, the younger people are lacking these values as they usually come as a result of many years of experience. An example of this can be commonly found when a troubled youth seeks advice from someone much older than them. Therefore, older people can have significant positive effects on the society and individuals. Finally, elderly population has the ability to take care children as well as giving them a friendly atmosphere to grow up as most parents nowadays are getting busier and do not have enough time to take good care of their kids.

In conclusion, the growth in life expectancy has considerable advantages. I personally believe that its disadvantages cannot be underestimated and solutions should be implemented to help improve the situation.