In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

What is your opinion on that?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The number of elderly people in many countries experiences a burgeoning increase in the recent decade. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative consequences led by this issue.

The increasing number of people over 60-year old might be caused social issue. First of all, this will raise the old-age dependency ratio as many elderly people are not financially independent and do not have regular income to fulfil their basic necessity. So, the government have to support old-age people by providing living allowances and accommodations. If the nations have no financial burden by the old age people, this money can be allocated for other public purposes such as education and technology sector having more impact on the society and nation as a whole.

However, the growing number of people over 60-year old indicates the better development of a nation because this distinguishes that the country has a better improvement, especially in the health sector. Take several developed nations such as Japan and French as an example, having more than 15% of elder people population caused by the increasing of life expectancy due to the best health services they provide for the public to ensure that the citizens possess the best physical well-being and can live longer.

To sum up, an additional number of older people population in several countries should be considered both negative and positive effects. The drawback of this phenomenon is that the government must initiating and funding many programs for the elderly to ensure their well-being, while the merit of this issue is the nations experienced a prosperous trend a general.