In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

The number of elderly people in many countries experiences a burgeoning increase in the recent decade. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative consequences led by this issue.

On the one hand, the increasing number of people over 60-year old might cause social issues. this results in the rise of the old-age-dependency ratio as many elderly people are not financially independent, and do not have regular income to fulfil their basic necessity. So, governments should bear the responsibility to support them by providing living allowances and accommodations. If the nations are financially unburdened by the elderly people, this money would be allocated for other public purposes such as education and technology sectors having more impact on the society and nation as a whole.

On the other hand, the growing over 60-year old population indicates that a better development of a nation because this defines that the country is affluence nation. Take several developed nations such as Japan and French as an example, having more than 15% of elder people population. An additional number of old age in these countries caused by the increasing of life expectancy due to the better health services they provide for the public. As a result, this enhances citizens physical well-being and live longer.

To sum up, an additional number of older people population in several countries should be considered both negative and positive effects. The drawback of this phenomenon is that the government must initiate and funding many programs for the elderly to ensure their welfare. However, this also indicates national prosperity.