In many countries, schools have severe problems with student behavior. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggestions?

These days, students at school have acute behavior problems, such as school violence and truancy. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the causes of this problem, and how it might be resolved. In this essay I will examine the issue and seek some possible solutions.

To begin with, in regard to reasons, it is undeniable that abundant violent information in mass media leads to the fact that students become aggressive at school. For instance, students can access various brutal information on TV and imitate what they have seen at school because they lack the ability to tell right from wrong and are more vulnerable to bad influences. In addition, test-oriented education causes students to feel bored in class and play truant from school. A good case in point is that high schools in most Asian countries, where successful students are measured only by their mid-term or final examination grades, focus on the teaching method to improve pupils’ performances in exams and ignore what they are interested in.

On the other hand, as to solutions, the government ought to draw up and enact harsh laws to reduce the amount of violence in the media, and with much less exposure to it, students can be friendly to each other at school. Furthermore, the government should encourage the schools to convert their current educational system into the learner-oriented one, and with interest guidance students are more willing to stay at school to learn.

To summarize, there is no doubt that the reasons for the students’ bad behavior at school are inappropriate schooling and violent contents in abundance on media. At the same time, however, there are two efficient fashions to solve these two issues.