In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibility at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to prepare their children as they approach this important milestone. To what degree should parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 year-old children?

In nations around the globe, the age of sixteen marks an important transitioning phase for young citizens as they have a higher degree of freedom and more duties to attend to. The support and guide from parents are undoubtedly needed for such significant period. I believe, however, there are certain limits to how far parental intervention should go.

Firstly, it is crucial that parents impose strict rules and punishments for any adolescent attempt at acting against the law. Examples include drinking alcohols before the permitted age, trying addictive drugs or driving before having rightfully obtained the license. All of them are illegal and can cause catastrophic consequences, not only harming the adolescents themselves but also posing a threat to the safety of others as the young lose control over their own actions due to the overwhelming euphoric pleasures.

However, there are certain matters on which instead of relying on absolute control, parents should provide constructive and informed advice to their 14-15-year-old children. One of the key skills is learning how to make sensible priorities, especially in terms of time and financial managements. The 14-15-year-olds ought to learn when to skip parties to finish homework before deadlines or to save up money for more important investments for their education such as buying laptop. Teaching children such skill is fundamental for them to function properly as they are more liberated as well as obligated.

Lastly, parental intervention is probably not necessary when the young citizens are trying to sort out their personal life. At this age, the youth should be able to choose which career they would like to pursuit, who they would want to include in their social circles and how they would deal with unexpected turns in their relationships, just to name a few. This, however, does not mean that parents should alienate themselves, but rather observe and only interfere when their children are stuck.

In conclusion, I believe that there as more responsibilities and privileges are bestowed upon young members of society at the mark of sixteen years of age, parents should realize their intervention is still needed, in varying degrees in different aspects of life.