Many museums and historical sights are mainly visited by tourists not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums and historical sights are pictures of the history for a nation. These places are mainly visited by tourists only, not by local inhabitants due to lack of interest and poor maintenance of these places, therefore, authorities should add some new things to create the interest of local people to visit it and it should well-maintain by authorities.

There are number of factors involve that museums and historical sights fail to attract the attention of locals.One of them is that local inhabitants do not have interest in visiting these places, because, they are already familiar with their historical background. For instance, there is a museum related to sikhism in my own city, hardly visited by locals, but, numerous visitors from overseas there to visit it. Another reason stems from historical attraction themselves, because of, low budget, as a result, authorities unable to maintain it properly. Moreover, costly tickets are also a big cause that these places are unable to attract local residents, since, there is nothing new which is worth-seeing for locals, so, they are unwilling to spend their money to see same thing again and again .

However, a range of available options which can be helpful to attract local people to visit these places, but, the most evident would be that free entry for locals, since, if there will be no any entry fee, local people can qualify themselves to visit these places. furthermore, authorities can make these places interesting by adding some new things such as sound and lightning programs, which, can be helpful to attract more locals. Meanwhile these places should well-maintained by authorities as these places should properly clean, there should not spread litter by visitors.

To conclude, museums and historical sights are a picture of our great history and it is also a earning source from overseas tourists, but, it is the responsibility of government they should allocate money to maintain it properly.