Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that these days, there are higher number of tourists than local inhabitants pay a visit to local museums and historical sites. Although this trend can be attributed by a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to address this.

There are two mains reasons why museums and historical sites are more preferred by foreigners than local residents. The first reason is that, since objectives and works in museums do not change anything for years, it will be too familiar to the locals. This means that they would not pay a visit to these museums a second time, because they know that there is nothing new there. Furthermore, in some areas, people are suffered from poverty and must to working hard to earn a living and support their family. In contrast, the entranced prices of many historical sites are expensive, which is unaffordable for local residents.

However, some possible steps can be taken into account to address this problem. First, if the objects and works in museums can be renewed by exchange programs with other museums, or refreshed regularly, the attractions of museums would be increased to local people. For example, some museums in Roma has been started using technology in displaying works of art, such as using virtual 3D technology of displaying, which has attracted many Italian come and see. The second measure is that, the government should enact a policy to decrease ticket prices of historical sites, especially for students and hence, these people will pay more attention and visits these areas, which would help them broaden their knowledge of their home towns.

In conclusion, although there are many reasons why museums and historical sites are less attracted with local inhabitants than foreigners, but some steps can be considered to tackle this.