Many museums charge for admission while others are free.Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are buildings where things of traditional and cultural importance are stored and preserved. Most of the museums charge entry fees as it is required for maintainance of the place while, there are some who do not charge as they get enough funds from government. I think, besides some disadvantages there are many advantages of charging museum fees.

When a museum charges people for visiting, it uses the amount for welfare of the building, which, is very important to attract visitors, as it is not only the responsibility of government, but also people to take care of the objects of ancient civilization. For instance, the money collected can be used for renovation and maintainance of the museums, which is very crucial for preservation of things / objects inside the museum. In addition, an attractive museum, invites more people to visit the place, which leads to growth of tourism, leading to financial stability of the place, as number of people come to visit, there will be growth in food and transport industry, providing employment opportunities to the people living there.

Some people think, charging fees will have negative impact on people, as they might not come to museum as they may not be willing to pay. In contrast, museums might loose its significance as new generations might not be able to know the cultural and traditional values of their ancestors, as parents may not take them to museums because they are charged. Some might think why they need to pay as it is government responsibility to look after these ans they should not force public to pay, this attitude of individuals might effect the future generation. However I think, entrances should be charged, because when a place is neat and clean it tempts people to visit the place once again and they also recommend others, which will be beneficial to all and for this, we have to pay and support the government to maintain museums.

In conclusion, museums are values and cultures passed by our ancestors, so it is our responsibility to contribute to take care and preserve these objects and pass on to future generation.