Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It has become a common phenomenon that criminals who finished their serving in prison tend to break the law and end up in jail again. In my opinion, not only insufficient rehabilitation services offered by government or non-profit organizations but also the nature of justice system design contributes to this tragic situation. In order to make a change, much efforts have to be taken by both government and society.

One major reason why ex-offenders failed to live a normal live is that there is no effective rehabilitation help for restarting a new life. Especially under the social norms which people would in general discriminate a person with “records”, which means criminals don’t really have a second chance as employers and family would distant themselves from offenders out of social pressure. There are numerous examples that ex-criminals walked out of cell and then became homeless. They usually commit another crime such as robbery to make a living. Perhaps for them the indifference of society makes prison a better place simply for the purpose of surviving.

Furthermore, what is more problematic is that the design of entire justice system, which is to punish law breakers instead of reducing crimes for the goodness of the whole community. Indeed, running a federal prison somehow became a privatized profit-making business which actually benefits from more crimes. For instance, in 2008 a scandal reveals two judges in Pennsylvania are bribed by corporation who runs prisons gave 5000 teenagers much more server sentences for petty crimes. No surprise there would be no ethics or incentives to improve the lives for a criminal under this distorted system.

To change this awkward situation, it needs ultimate reform of justice system which should be aimed at rehabilitation instead of punishment, such as relinquish the privatization of federal prisons, and promote non-profit rehabilitation organizations. It also needs corroborative efforts by the rest of the society to build a much more tolerant environment to help ex-offenders to restart a new life.