Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that the proportion of criminals recommitted is increasing after they are released.This essay bellow will discuss the reasons and some possible measures that universities and individuals can take to address these problems.

There are a number of factors which can be considered as the major causes of this phenomenon. The main reason is that it is not easy for convicts to survive after completing sentence. That can be seen by the fact that the majority of criminals is those who are poor, uneducated and unskilled to maintain a job. In consequence, without a certain job, there is no means for them to sustain their life. Another key reason is that societies tend to hold a negative view of offenders which result in they becoming more isolated and being difficult to blend in with community. At that time, criminals may reunite to form groups and may plan crimes with others

There are several actions that government and societies could take to help offenders avoid recommitting. I think the most obvious solution for authorities is to provide inmates with vocational trainings rather than just keeping them in cells. In Vietnam, for example, lawbreakers always take part in a wide range of courses such as handmade, car maintenance that do not require highly skilled level. By doing this, offenders may find suitable jobs for their living. Another remedy can be used to combat the problem is that governments and societies should continue campaigns to change citizens’ attitudes toward prisoners. This means that criminals may find easier to come back and feel a sense of comfort in communities, therefore they would not be reoffended any more.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise to the increase in recommitting among criminals.