Many people are optimistic of the 21st century and see it as an opportunity to make positive changes to the world. To what extent do you share their optimism? What changes would you like to see in the new century?

There is no doupt that optimism towards 21st century and its viability to enhance the world is a great concern, especially with the background of rapidly developing technologies I think there are valid arguments for both, approving and diminishing this optimism.

Firstly, the unevitable rise of global problems prevents making rapid improvements to the world. As a result, it will take more than a century to make meaningful positive changes. For instance, global warming causes variety of other issues that humanity has to eliminate first. In addition, part of the humanity that hold most of the money is not interested in solving these problems, because it is a possible source of income that can be exploited. Take for example building companies that may have to work twice due to earthquakes or floods. Lastly, making any changes requires time to see the results, especially speaking of the world itself, that can not be altered quickly by human means.

On the other hand, development of new technologies opens new opportunities to humanity, especially for bringing positive changes to the world. A good example would be water filtration system or environmentally friendly cars. As a predictable outcome, environment would recover from damage caused by humanity over the last few decades. Furthermore, even the small action like planting a tree are already considered to be positive and have significant effect on the world. Lastly, these alterations should not be considered to be only in the field of environment. Thus, enhancing society or other sectors are also considered to be positive alteratior. Consequently, almost any beneficial deed is contributing to the world and can be considered positive. However, positive changes in the environment and medicine are most appreciable.

Overall, I believe that new century allows new positive alternations to take place, without any aberrations preventing improvements.