Many people complain about stress at work. How can employers reduce stress at work and what can employers do on their own to solve this problem?

The twentieth century witnessed a major breakthrough in the field of science and technology. In today’s era of competition, life is filled with sources of stress and working longer time is one of which and cannot be avoided. This essay outlines both the causes and appropriate ways of dealing with it.

To begin with, as the unemployment rate is climbing, people feel more pressure to survive under intense competition and keeping jobs without working hard is becoming uphill task. It becomes worse especially for recently university graduated youngsters, due to lack of any real life experiences they can be dismissed easily. So people have to put more efforts on work and some even work in unsocial hours. Moreover, technological advances make it possible for people to work long hours even while off duty. To illustrate, people answer phones and check emails after they leave work, and for this reason, their working hours are prolonged. This is particularly the case for employees working in the service sector and has to be on call long hours.

On the other hand, there are several practices for employers to help tackle this problem. One is to provide employees with more staff training to have a good grasp of technology. To enumerate, with more knowledge and improved skills employee can work with higher efficiency and reduce working time. Another approach is to provide some stress management training for employees. This can help in achieving work-life balance, and doing more activities for pleasure. Consequently, employees can cope with pressure from work better.

In the light of these facts one can conclude that, competition and technology can be taken as the causes of long working hours. Employers have responsibility to provide staff training and stress management training as it will benefit both employers and employees to gain optimized working efficiency and productivity.