Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified worker such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that more people should do a vocational training instead of going to university. Personally, I partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, people should be encouraged to become trained workders. Nowadays, following a vocational training would meet the needs of career because there is a lack of qualified workers in society. The number of building and house tends to increase and workers are vital when these constructions are built. This would help people choosing a vocaltional training have more opportunities to get job so that they can have a better living condition. With people who cannot enter universities or colleges, being a qualified worker prevents them to commit crime. Many crimes, such as pick pocket or burglar stem from unemployers who cannot pay for their living. Having a job like plumber or electrician help them earn money for the cost of living and therefore thay may not think about crime.

On the other hand, going to the university is still a better way to success. White- collar jobs are usually highly appreciated so people working in these areas can be promoted quickly in their careers. In some special area, learning academic knowledge in the university is essential before working. Doctors, for instance, need to learn the basic knowledge about human body before practising medcine. If not, they can make mistake leading to serious consequences such as making patients die.

In conclusion, I believe that both academic study and vocational training are necessary in modern society life.