Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to and exchange of information. Far from being beneficial, this is a danger to our societies.

In the global era, there are more benefits which was made by modern technology especially internet to expand the information and transferring the knowledge massively. One important aspect of these benefits is all of people have the opportunity for uploading and transferring the information into the website and social media by easily, in everywhere and every time. However, in my view there are also negative impact which was made by the modern technology towards the rise of fake news and post truth society. I hold this view for some reasons which are set out below.

First, I would like to argue that the internet are easily utilized by anonymous writer for uploading fake news or hoax information. According to Research Centre for Communication Studies, Australian National University stated that 65% news which was existed in the internet and social media are hoaxes and less credible.

On the other hand, the internet also stimulated escalate the number of post truth society in the world. this condition occurred due to the internet has successful to exchanging the literacy behaviour of the society from conventional literacy which it more scientific and credible to the internet literacy which it more instant and sensational, albeit it too difficult to validate the data of it. Referring to International Journalist Institute (IJI) stated that the internet era has successful to decline the quality of people’s literacy significantly.

Taking everything into consideration, I believe that the internet era could be harmful for the society due to it could effected to the rise of incredible information which it should adopt by most of people as well as it also stimulated to increase the number of post truth society in the world.