The money spending on the arts

Nowadays, the primary sources of the government expenses are not only public services, but also the arts. It is argued that the money which is spent on the arts is unnecessary. As far as I am concerned, I am in favor of spending money on public services, but it does not mean that we should neglect the arts.

There is one point which everybody agrees that the investment in public services is essential for the society. First, public services are such places that we can educate or recover people. Take schools or hospitals for example. Without such places, the health of society may decrease. Additionally, our future generation cannot be as educated as they should be. For these reasons, the money which is spent on public services can be regarded as the investment for the future.

However, this does not mean other expenses such as on the arts should be completely ignored. In my opinion, the government must keep the balance, as they are as important as public services. With regard to the arts, it reflects the society’s intellectual level, the culture and the traditions of the country. Besides, many people can derive a great pleasure from observing these things, so they may want to go theatres and museums. As a result, the arts can also be concerned as entertainment facilities, which government should invest in.

To sum up, I believe that a large amount of the investment should go into the public services as they determine the quality of life. However, the money spending on the arts is not a waste of money, as their impacts on our life are too visible to ignore.