More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the number of people who tend to purchase items such as clothes, automobile and other things from famous labels is increasing. The reasons behind this trend will be outlined in this essay, in my perspective, although there are some positive results of this tendency, I believe that it is outweighed by the negative effects.

To begin with, the bias of using large brand products mostly stems from people's beliefs on personal possessions reflecting wealth, social status and upgrading appearance. In addition, goods like clothes and accessories from popular brand names such as Hermés or Adidas with high quality and fashionable designs. Therefore, these merchandises are more suitable for enhancing people's outside than those of less well-known trademarks. Furthermore, some types of productions having great value like cars from luxurious brands are usually sold at exorbitant prices because of their expensive materials or unique features. Hence, they are used to show others the wealth or social class of the owner.

On the other hand, this tendency brings both merits and drawbacks in different ways. Countries, where renowned trademarks are based, are more likely to have a strong and healthy economy. For example, the US - the home nation of many large brands, such as Apple and Microsoft, has been the strongest economic superpower since the late 20th century partly since the products os these enterprises not only favoured in domestic but also in overseas. However, it is harmful to assume that only well-known goods guarantee quality as well as a desire to prove themselves despite financial difficulties. For instance, following a survey of People's Daily in China, young people in this country are facing " big trouble" because of the habit of overspending. Details, 53% of college student borrowed money to buy precious items such as Apple tablets or iPhone phones that can not afford to pay off debt.

In conclusion, the trend of consumer goods from high-end brands comes from people's perception of personal belongings showing their wealth, social status and appearance. Although this tendency can generate benefits to the business market, the negative far outweighs such positive.