More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses.

Why? Who benefit from this, the community or these young people?

In present-day society, the growing number of young people from affluent countries are doing volunteering abroad in underdeveloped or developing countries. There is a wide variety of reasons for this activity, and I believe that both these young individuals and the community reap the benefits.

Many convincing reasons associated with this phenomenon. The most significant of which is the voluntary works is considered as a way of life for many youths. In other words, a long tradition of seeing volunteering as a form of charity, based on altruism and selflessness and it is inspired by the concept of mutual help. Besides, young volunteers could understand this meaningful actions, whether big or small will have an impact on someone’s life. For instance, by teaching someone to speak English is synonymous with helping them break the cycle of poverty by giving them access to better job opportunities. Their kids and families will have a better quality of life for generations to come.

It is undeniable that oversea volunteer acts have been beneficial to both sides. Concerning the young, one of the better-known benefits of volunteering helps them to integrate with the world. For clarification, the best way to make new friends and strengthen existing relationships is to commit to a shared activity together. Furthermore, volunteering gives them the opportunity to practice and develop their social skills. In regard to poorer countries, many children who have difficulties in attending school can have the opportunities to continue their studies by assistance from foreign volunteer teachers. For example, in areas meeting with difficult, children forced to leave the school or even they cannot go to the school like the same ages simply because they have to earn the money to support their families.

In conclusion, poor countries’ goverment should have more policies to support volunteers who come from rich nationals so they can be more easily involved in carrying out their good work.