Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The modernization and industrialization these days are allegedly associated with the cultural loss since the majority of modern citizens are believed to draw a blank about the real connotation of conventional and ritual customs and festivals and these occasions are now no more than a period of time for themselves. From my perspective, while I firmly concur that various meanings behind traditional festivals are gradually being forgotten, people still enjoy these events in a variety of means rather than just on their own

On the one hand, there is a variety of justifications that meanings of conventional and religious festivals have been forgotten. There seems to be a surging in the number of modern people, especially youngsters, paying a visit to regions which organize traditional carnival with a single purpose that is to revitalize themselves. Therefore, they have no intention of accomplishing knowledge about these festivals and as the time come, the evanescence of the festival's original meanings is inevitable. By way of exemplifying, Halloween, the festivals marked the end of summer and the harvest and the beginning of the dark, cold winter, a time of year that was often associated with human death is now merely a masquerade night in the most people's perspective.

Nevertheless, despite the fact that authentic meanings of traditional festivals may be faded away, the way people enjoying these occasions remain unchanged. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that one fundamental purpose of traditional events is to spend time with the close-knit ones and they offer people an opportunity to share all the happiness as well as misery with their family and friends. This is shown by the fact that in Luna New Year, one of the most important religious celebration in Vietnam, people working all over the country have come back to reunite with their families regardless of geographical distance.

In conclusion, from my perspective, the original meanings of traditional and religious festivals may be misinterpreted among modern people. However, since the fundamental purpose of all festivals is remained unchanged, people still have a similar means of enjoying these occasions