Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the recent years, it has become a popular trend to open multinational businesses in the rising nations. This has both pros and cons. This essay is going to explain both positive and negative impacts of it.

While looking at the advantages of starting new multinational companies in the growing countries, the first and foremost is the improvement in the unemployment rate. More factories mean more job opportunities. It leads to decrease in the poverty and raises the living standard of people. Secondly, increasing number of companies by developed countries bring more money to the undeveloped countries in the form of tax as one nation has to pay tax to open an office in another nation which helps to raise the economy. For example, in the past, Japan and China had opened car companies in India which have declined unemployed individuals in India.

However, there are some disadvantages of running multinational businesses in the undeveloped countries in which the most important is the exploitation of the labor. These companies pay very less wages to the employees of home countries as compared to employees of the developed countries. Apart from this, these businesses buy raw material from these developing countries at a very cheap price which can be sold oversea at a higher value. All these factors have effect on the economy of rising countries. Moreover, multinational companies cause production of waste material which is not managed and decomposed properly. It results in various type of pollution in the growing countries.

In conclusion, I think multinational companies are both boon and bane at the same time by lowering the unemployment burden, by exploiting the laborers and causing pollution.