Music has been and will continue to be the universal language of mankind. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, music plays a significant role in cultural differences. Many hold a belief that music deserves to be called as a universal language no matter in the past or future. To the best of my knowledge, this point of view is grounded for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that music and languages are closely intertwined in one way or another. Nowadays, many studies have shown that although it is invisible, music has an irreplaceable function of expressing thoughts and feelings, which is the main characteristic of language. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that music can express emotions that cannot describe by words. For example, higher pitch, fluctuations in melody and faster tempo can transmit happiness, while slow rhythm conveys sadness. This example is the illustration of the fact that music can touch the diverse emotions of listeners.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that music is not a universal language, because in different countries, people prefer various types of music. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that in the past each country has its own style of music that depends on their cultures; nevertheless, due to cutural globalization, people are inclined to enjoy similar kinds of music from dominant cultures. For instance, according to the survey conducted by BBC News, English has become an international language that is accompanied by the growing interests in US-UK music.

In conclusion, music is a universal language that connects people all around the world towards emotions and cultures as mentioned above.